Five Graduate Students named Eisenhower Fellows

Five engineering Ph.D. students have received prestigious Dwight David Eisenhower Transportation Fellowships and one of them was named the top Eisenhower Fellow in the U.S.

The fellows were selected through a competitive process that included university panels and a national selection panel. The awards, up to $30,000 each, are made by the U.S. Department of Transportation's Federal Highway Administration. The Eisenhower fellows were honored at the recent Transportation Research Board of the National Academies at its annual meeting in Washington D.C.

The showing recognizes areas of strength for Vanderbilt that include transportation risk, reliability, and resilience analysis and transportation cyber physical systems. All four winners from 2019 were named again, as was Paul Johnson, an advisee of Mark Abkowitz, professor of civil and environmental engineering.

All five students are members of VECTOR and several are research assistants at the Vanderbilt Institute for Software Integrated Systems. Some also are involved in MoveVU, linking their research and transportation challenges facing Nashville as well as Vanderbilt. Please click the "Read More" link at the end of this section to find out more about the students and this exciting award!

Read More>